2019 Charleston Dance Center Award Winners

Charleston Dance Center faculty would like to congratulate all dancers on an amazing year! Below are the dancers who earned special recognition.

All Charleston Dance Center teachers come together to select one dancer who is the Most Improved out of the whole studio. The 2019 Most Improved Dancer is Jenna Huser.

Gracen AwardEvery year, Just Dance! co-directors Buffi Wade and Lindsey Gentry select a dancer that exemplifies what they want to see in a dancer. The 2019 Director’s Choice Award goes to Gracen Nelson. Gracen is part of the Class of 2019 and has danced at the studio for 14 years! Read more about Gracen.

Gracen is also the recipient of the Kim Wade Roberts Scholarship that is awarded to a graduating senior to be used for future endeavors. Kim was a co-founder of the studio who passed away in 2016.

Every year, dancers vote on the Dancer of the Year for each company. This is awarded to the dancers who isn’t necessarily the best dancer, but is the best presentation of a good team dancer. The Dancer of the Year is always positive, keeps the team motivated and is kind to teammates.

2019 Dancers of the Year:

Dancers of the YearMini: Lorelei Lingle

Petite: Olivia Whetzel

Junior: Dailyn Strock

Senior: Gracen Nelson

Ballet Mistress Andrea Snider selected a Most Valuable Ballerina (MVB) and Most Improved Ballerina. The MVB is the dancer who is always prepared for class, follows class etiquette and is respectful of everyone in the room.

2019 ballet award winners:

Ballet I: Adelyn Crosby (MVB); Savannah White (Most Improved)

Mini Ballet: Emma Amman (MVB); Lawson Walasek (Most Improved)

Ballet II: Kate Confarotta (MVB); Merritt LeHew (Most Improved)

Petite Ballet: Jenna Huser (MVB); Blakely Thrasher (Most Improved)

Ballet III: Dailyn Strock (MVB); Sullivan Turner (Most Improved)

Ballet IV: Caitlyn Hall (MVB); Anya Hutchins (Most Improved)

Dancers are encouraged to sell ads for the Year End Performance program and the dancers who sell the most ads can earn free tuition.

2019 Ad Contest Winners:

Ad Contest Winners1st: Lorelei Lingle

2nd: Savannah White

3rd: Reagan Ziebell